Padraig runs Dubai…. again!

Running for the 5th consecutive year, it kicked off at the earlier time of 6:30am. Motivation going into this one was for a sub 3:15 and a potential place in the 2017 Boston Marathon.

With the daylight yePC Dubai 2016t to emerge, I went out hitting the first km at 4:30 pace, this trend was to continue throughout. It soon became apparent I was under 3:15 completion, closer to 3:10. As the km’s clocked up, the watch was key in maintaining a consistent pace. The mathematics were in my mind, steady and not to wilt under the rising sun.

Hitting the halfway point at 1:35, feeling strong, I soon reached the 24km mark. At this point I start to count down, a strategy that has generally worked in the past. At 30km the sun was belting down, lucky enough it wasn’t blazing into my eyes and that the sunglass weren’t required.

On the final stages the sense of isolation hit home, no one next or near me. At 40.5 km my watch flew off my wrist (troublesome strap), I picked it up and ran with it in my pocket.

The finishing straight was a clear road with a nice atmosphere. Looking up at the clock confirmed that my initial target had been achieved; it was a delightful feeling crossing the line.

Stopped the watch 3:13:39, 129th place &. 5th fastest, of the 26 completed so far.

Now it’s on to Wadi Bih, a 72km solo run on February 5.

Leave a Reply

